Stoker Award Preliminary Ballot!

Bad Apples: Five Slices of Halloween Horror - Evans Light, Gregor Xane, Edward Lorn, Jason Parent, Adam Light



My fellow horror loving Booklikers! Here is most of the list of the authors on the preliminary ballots for the Stoker Award! If you are a friend of mine, then you will recognize one of these authors.


(Please keep in mind that we cannot refer to any of these folks as nominees for the Stoker, these are just authors on the preliminary ballots. Seriously, any of these authors could get into serious trouble, (and would be withdrawn!) if they refer to themselves or if we refer to them as nominees in any posts, etc.)


The Horror Writers Association (HWA) is pleased to announce the Preliminary Ballots for the 2014 Bram Stoker Awards®.


The HWA (see ) is the premiere writers organization in the horror and dark fiction genre, with over 1,300 members. We have presented the Bram Stoker Awards in various categories since 1987 (see


The HWA Board and the Bram Stoker Awards Committee congratulate all those appearing on these Preliminary Ballots. Notes about the voting process appear after the ballot listing.


The Preliminary Ballots are:


Superior Achievement in a Novel


Tim Burke – The Flesh Sutra (NobleFusion Press) Adam Christopher – The Burning Dark (Tor Books)

Michaelbrent Collings – This Darkness Light (self-published)

Lawrence C. Connolly – Vortex (Fantasist Enterprises)

Craig DiLouie – Suffer the Children (Gallery Books of Simon & Schuster)

Patrick Freivald – Jade Sky (JournalStone)

Chuck Palahniuk – Beautiful You (Jonathan Cape, Vintage/Penguin Random House UK) Christopher Rice – The Vines (47North)

Brett J. Talley – The Reborn (JournalStone)

Steve Rasnic Tem – Blood Kin (Solaris Books)


Superior Achievement in a First Novel


Maria Alexander – Mr. Wicker (Raw Dog Screaming Press)

J.D. Barker – Forsaken (Hampton Creek Press)

Janice Gable Bashman – Predator (Month9Books)

David Cronenberg – Consumed (Scribner)

Michael Knost – Return of the Mothman (Woodland Press)

Daniel Levine – Hyde (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Josh Malerman – Bird Box (Harper Collins)

Whitney Miller – The Violet Hour (Flux)

Chantal Noordeloos – Angel Manor (Horrific Tales Publishing)

C.J. Waller – Predator X (Severed Press)


Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel


Ari Berk – Lych Way (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Jake Bible – Intentional Haunting (Permuted Press)

Ilsa J. Bick – White Space (Egmont)

John Dixon – Phoenix Island (Simon & Schuster/Gallery Books)

Kami Garcia – Unmarked (The Legion Series Book 2) (Little Brown Books for Young Readers)

S.E. Green – Killer Instinct (Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse)

Tonya Hurley – Passionaries (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)

Micol Ostow – Amity (Egmont)

Peter Adam Salomon – All Those Broken Angels (Flux)

Sam Swanson and Araminta Star Matthews – Horror High School: Return of the Loving Dead (Curiosity Quills Press)

Johnny Worthen – Eleanor: Book 1 (The Unseen) (Jolly Fish Press)


Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel


Charles Burns – Sugar Skull

Emily Carroll – Through the Woods

Victor Gischler – Kiss Me Satan

Joe Hill – Locke and Key, Vol. 6

Joe R. Lansdale and Daniele Serra – I Tell You It’s Love (Short, Scary Tales Publications)

Jonathan Maberry – Bad Blood (Dark Horse Books)

Paul Tobin – The Witcher


Superior Achievement in Long Fiction


Michael Bailey – Dandelion Clocks (Inkblots and Blood Spots) (Villipede Publications) Taylor Grant – The Infected (Cemetery Dance #71) (Cemetery Dance)

Eric J. Guignard – Dreams of a Little Suicide (Hell Comes To Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales Of Tinseltown Terror (Volume 2)) (Big Time Books)

Kate Jonez – Ceremony of Flies (DarkFuse)

Joe R. Lansdale – Fishing for Dinosaurs (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)

Jonathan Maberry – Three Guys Walk Into a Bar (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone) Joe McKinney – Lost and Found (Limbus, Inc., Book II) (JournalStone)

Gene O’Neill – Ridin the Dawg (Mia Moja) (Thunderstorm Books)

John F.D. Taff – The Long Long Breakdown (The End in all Beginnings) (Grey Matter Press)

------->Gregor Xane – The Riggle Twins (Bad Apples) (Corpus Press) !!!!!!<------


How exciting is this?! Congratulations, Gregor! I hope you win!



Superior Achievement in Short Fiction


Dale Bailey – Sleep Paralysis (Nightmare Magazine, April 2014) (Nightmare)

Hal Bodner – Hot Tub (Hell Comes to Hollywood II) (Big Time Books)

Patrick Freivald – Trigger Warning (Demonic Visions Book 4) (Chris Robertson)

Sydney Leigh – Baby’s Breath (Bugs: Tales That Slither, Creep, and Crawl) (Great Old Ones Publishing)

Usman T. Malik – The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)

Alessandro Manzetti – Nature’s Oddities (The Shaman: And Other Shadows) (self-published)

Rena Mason – Ruminations (Qualia Nous) (Written Backwards)

John Palisano – Splinterette (Widowmakers: A Benefit Anthology of Dark Fiction)

Sayuri Ueda – The Street of Fruiting Bodies (Phantasm Japan) (Haikasoru, an imprint of VIZ Media, LLC)

Genevieve Valentine – A Dweller in Amenty (Nightmare Magazine, March 2014) (Nightmare)

Damien Angelica Walters – The Floating Girls: A Documentary (Jamais Vu, Issue Three) (Post Mortem Press)



 ...there's a lot more, but copying the text turned everything into a solid paragraph, so I'm stopping here. You can find the rest of the list by clicking here.